1st St Leonard’s Forest Scout Group

1st St Leonard´s Forest Group was formed to serve the young people of a housing estate that was developed during the 1960´s. The Group has strong local connections and has a HQ in the heart of the community.

Camping. hiking and water activities are key elements of an attractive Scouting programme. With a membership at just below 200 the Group provides 2 Sections Beavers, Cubs and Scouts meeting each week during term time.

The Group has a tradition of international activities and greenfield site camping. Older members (14+) have the opportunity of continuing their careers with Pegasus Explorer Unit which meets at the HQ.

  • Group Scout Leader: Graham Clayton – gsl1slf@horshamscouts.com / gsl@1slfscouts.co.uk 01403 259278
  • Assistant Group Scout Leader: Mark Amarasekara
  • Admin: Sue Light – groupadmin@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Group Chairperson: Robert Marshall – chairman@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Group Secretary: Gemma Dold – secretary@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Group Treasurer: Helen Walden – treasurer@1slfscouts.co.uk




80 Amberley Road
RH12 4LN

Willow Beaver Colony

  • Beaver Leader: Gemma Jones – willow@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Meeting Times: Tuesday 17:30 – 18:45

Aker Wood Beaver Colony

  • Beaver Leader: Mark Rogers – akerwood@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Meeting Times: Thursday 17:30 – 18:45

Rudyard Cub Pack

  • Cub Leader: Mark Amarasekara – rudyard@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Meeting Times: Monday 19:00 – 20:30

Kipling Cub Pack

  • Cub Leader: Stacey Weldon – kipling@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Meeting Times: Wednesday 18:45 – 20:15

Baden Scout Troop

  • Scout Leader: Chris Jones – baden@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Meeting Times: Tuesday 19:15 – 21:15

Powell Scout Troop

  • Scout Leader: Don Moyse – powell@1slfscouts.co.uk
  • Meeting Times: Thursday 19:15 – 21:15
Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls